RSS

introducing Riri

25 Jul

Riri, as I call her, is my ten-day-old niece. She wriggles like a mouse, squints like an owl and yawns like a cat. She’s not yet herself, still when she manages to open her bluish eyes and frowns at you trying to focus her gaze, you realize she’s there and you wonder how come there was a time when she hadn’t been.

I went to see Riri after some days plagued by sleep deprivation and not eating, and it turns out she’s the perfect medicine for weariness (although her parents would beg to differ). She just sat there in my arms quietly, a little cocoon made of warmth and milk, wrapping its tiny invisible threads around me, soothing me, making me feel like home. Thanks, Ri. Nighty night.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 25, 2012 in jurnal

 

Tags:

One response to “introducing Riri

  1. Diana

    July 30, 2012 at 7:19 am

    Oh, I totally get that… how holding a brand new mushy baby makes a whole new you! :)
    PS: Welcome, Riri! ;)

     

Leave a Reply

 
