RSS

another shot of nostalgia, please

12 Jul

I’m home again for the second time this year… which is quite a record.

As always I get sentimental and mushy and go through my stuff and my books and I sit on the wooden chest on the balcony and look at the people passing by beneath my balcony. There is also a park and the church and then a bit further down the road you can see my former high school looking like a retired general.

They’ve cut some of the trees and probably torn down some buildings because now from the second floor I can see far away until the end of the city, until the last scattered houses at the bottom of the hills and then the forest on the horizon like a dark serpent made of leaves surrounding the city in whose heart I am stuck like a small silver needle.

And it’s now that I realize… I never knew the name of this city… It’s never been just one city for me… It’s a mozaic of cities, it’s Bender and Kishinev, and Timisoara and Bucharest, and all the cities I’ve ever seen in my dreams and all the cities I’ve visited, all the cities seen by my grandparents and all the cities they had dreamt of.

 
5 Comments

Posted by on July 12, 2010 in jurnal

 

Tags: , ,

5 responses to “another shot of nostalgia, please

  1. Cristina

    August 10, 2010 at 6:05 pm

    I like this world. And I also miss ours. But your writing is amazing and you should do something about it. I agree with yourself from the last post on this blog: you should write more.

     
    • Sheherzadah

      August 10, 2010 at 6:12 pm

      How can I NOT approve this comment?: ) : P

       
  2. Cristina

    August 10, 2010 at 6:20 pm

    :-))

    Same old you. I am nostalgic. And happy.

     
  3. Sheherzadah

    August 11, 2010 at 11:05 am

    Sexy combination: ).

    By the way, if I ever manage to finish a book, I want one of those photos taken by you on the cover. Deal?: )

     
  4. Cristina

    August 11, 2010 at 11:16 am

    It’s a deal! ;-) Gladly!

    You finish the book and I’ll make the cover!

    Deal? ;-)

     

Leave a Reply

 
