RSS

mi piace

29 May

Since I’ve been quite hooked on Hitchcock lately, I was pretty excited when I read about Dario Argento’s tribute to the English director featured in a TV broadcast from 2005 called Ti piace Hitchcock?/Do you like Hitchcock?

It’s been uploaded on youtube in nine parts of some ten minutes each. I had to watch the English-dubbed version which made me cringe whenever there was a piece of dialog. Otherwise it has some nice Argento touches – eerie sounds (the best part of the film, in my opinion), the unmistakable red – and it recreates some of the famous scenes in Hitchcock’s movies (Strangers on a Train, Rear Window, Dial M for Murder, Vertigo, Psycho). It manages to build suspense at times but somehow I didn’t find it… entertaining. It lacks humor, which is one of the main ingredients in Hitchcock’s movies, and the characters are poorly sketched which makes it boring at times.

The howling dog scene is beautiful in a spine-chilling way though. I heartily recommend it: ).

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 29, 2010 in filme

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
