RSS

“were most of your stars out?”

22 Apr

When I read Catcher in the Rye in the sixth grade, I felt that Holden was just like my brother Tommy. The massive dissatisfaction, the restlessness, the inability to behave as expected, the brilliant spins of sarcasm, and the urge to puncture the pretensions of others were the same. And this: the constant lying, which sprang partly from evasion and partly from sheer excess of imagination. I’d been drafting letters to J. D. Salinger in my head for a long time. And then, six years after my brother killed himself at age 30, I finally wrote.

Wendy Perron, “Shoot for the Moon, But Don’t Aim Too Hard”, Vanity Fair, April 14, 2010

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 22, 2010 in jurnal

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
